juntas podemos

Annual Awards and Scholarship Dinner

The Latina Lawyers Bar Association hosts an Annual Awards and Scholarship Dinner.  At the dinner, we honor accomplished Latinas who have inspired and opened doors for countless Latinas and others and recognize promising scholarship recipients.
In recent years, LLBA has had the privilege of honoring incredible Latinas, including the Hon. Vilma Martinez, former United States Ambassador to Argentina; the Hon. Frances Muñoz (Ret.), the first Latina trial court judge in the United States; Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient and civil rights activist, Sylvia Mendez; Academy Award-winning actress, Rita Moreno, among others.
LLBA brings together people, such as our inspiring honorees, and resources to support Latinas throughout their careers. 

LLBA's Scholarship Program is an important vehicle to help Latinas in the greater Los Angeles area graduate from law school and increase diversity in the legal profession.  The most significant obstacle to access that Latinas face is economic -- the ever-increasing cost of higher education and law school, in particular. As financial aid decreases and student loans threaten to smother our new law school graduates, LLBA's Scholarship Program serves a vital need.  

The Scholarship Program recognizes promising scholarship recipients, many of whom have already overcome seemingly insurmountable odds to reach their new heights. Our scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of their academic achievement, community service, leadership and financial need. 

We hope you will join us as we pay tribute to our inspiring honorees and scholarship recipients this year.

View the Award descriptions, criteria and past recipients.

Past Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinners:

19th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

18th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

17th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

16th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

15th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

14th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner

To view photo galleries of previous Annual Awards and Scholarship Dinners, click here.